Annulment (Declarations of Invalidity of Marriage)

How short does the marriage have to be?

The length of the marriage does not determine if you qualify to get an annulment, which is now known in Illinois as a Declaration of Invalidity of Marriage.

Marriages are not annulled (or invalidated) because the parties have been married for a short time and wish they weren’t, or if they feel they made a mistake. The court grants “Annulments” only when it determines that:

  1. a party did not have the capacity to consent to the marriage (mentally unable, intoxicated or under the influence of drugs, because of force or duress, e.g., shotgun marriages, or because of fraud involving the essentials of marriage;
  2. a party is physically unable to consummate the marriage (have sexual intercourse) at the time of the marriage and the other party did not know of the incapacity;
  3. a party was 16 or 17 years of age and did not have parental consent;
  4. the marriage is prohibited by another law(such as bigamy).

WARNING: Each of the above four grounds for invalidity of marriage has a different time limit (as in statute of limitations) in which a case must be filed.

We welcome hearing from you and we invite your questions. There is no obligation. No one will ever know that we spoke or what we discussed. Everything you say is privileged, confidential, and completely classified. We do not maintain a mailing list and will not contact you unless you ask us to.

Contacting us is easy!

Call 630-928-0600 


Click Here to submit a message through our contact form. 

If we are in court or in a meeting when you call, one of us will personally get back to you as quickly as possible. We are extremely discreet with callbacks and reply emails. Just leave your name and a secure email address or personal cell phone number.

Kari and Richard are staunch advocates of the non-court approach to divorce, and are also active and seasoned litigators with over 80 years of combined trial experience in the Illinois divorce courts of Cook and DuPage counties.